Swiss Cyber Security Days
18 - 19 February 2025
Feb

20

Cybercrime: threat to the 4th estate in the state

Roundtable
  • Topic: Cyber Security
  • Time: 20.02.2024, 17:00 to 17:45
  • Location: Main Stage
  • Language: German French English
Bookmark

The technical possibilities for large-scale disinformation campaigns are becoming increasingly potent. With quantum computing just around the corner, and in combination with increasingly sophisticated applications of artificial intelligence, we are on the brink of a new era. With the two investigative journalists Oliver Zihlmann and Lukas Mäder, we explore the dangers already lurking for journalism and public opinion formation from the cyber channel - and where the journey could take us.

Event sponsors

Neue Zürcher Zeitung Tamedia

Speaker

Lukas Mäder

Lukas Mäder

Editor Technology

Lukas Mäder is an editor at the NZZ and specialises in technology, digitalisation and cyber security. He previously worked for the NZZ in the Federal Parliament and as domestic editor, before moving to the science and technology department. Mäder was head of the politics department at 20 Minuten Online. He also set up the discussion programme "Politikum" for SRF4News on the Federal Council session.

Oliver Zihlmann

Oliver Zihlmann

Co-Head of Research Desk, Tamedia

As co-head of Tamedia's research desk, his reporting focusses on in-depth research, regularly in cooperation with international journalists. With a doctorate in history, he has worked for Swiss television channel SRF's "10 vor 10" and was a permanent contributor to the SonntagsZeitung in Berlin. He also teaches investigative research at the Zurich University of Applied Sciences. Zihlmann has been awarded the Zurich Journalism Prize and the Media Prize for Quality Journalism for his work.

Grégoire Barbey

Grégoire Barbey

Journalist & Co-Autor Le temps

Grégoire Barbey trained at the business and financial newspaper L'Agefi. He developed digital topics at Heidi.news and has been working for Le Temps since December 2023, where he is still responsible for cyber topics. Passionate about politics and technology, he looks at these topics from the perspective of their impact on society. Barbey is also the co-author of "Notre si précieuse intégrité numérique", a book about precious digital integrity.

Prof. Touradj Ebrahimi

Prof. Touradj Ebrahimi

Direktor Multimedia Signal Processing Group EPFL Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne EPFL

Prof. Dr. Ebrahimi teaches and researches in the field of multimedia signal processing and has chaired the JPEG nomination committee since 2014, which has developed a series of standards that have revolutionized the world of image processing. He represents Switzerland as head of delegation at JTC1, which is responsible for the information technology ISO and IEC. He also advises the European Commission and other government funding bodies in Europe as an expert. Ebrahimi is the founder of several start-ups and spin-off companies, including the most recent RayShaper SA, a research start-up dealing with AI-powered multimedia.

the Swiss Cyber Security Days
18 - 19 February 2025

  • Homepage
  • About the Swiss Cyber Security Days
  • Program
  • Exhibitors
  • Products

  • About this application

Feb

20

Cyberkriminalität: Bedrohung der 4. Gewalt im Staat

Roundtable
  • Thema: Cyber Security
  • Zeit: 20.02.2024, 17:00 bis 17:45 Uhr
  • Standort: Main Stage
  • Sprache: Deutsch Französisch Englisch
Merken

Die technischen Möglichkeiten für grossangelegte Desinformationskampagnen werden immer potenter. Mit Quantum Computing vor der Türe, und in Kombination mit immer ausgereifteren Anwendungen künstlicher Intelligenz, stehen wir vor einer Zeitwende. Mit den beiden Investigativ-Journalisten Oliver Zihlmann und Lukas Mäder erforschen wir, welche Gefahren dem Journalismus und der öffentlichen Meinungsbildung aus dem Cyberkanal bereits heute lauern – und wohin die Reise gehen könnte.

Sponsoren des Anlasses

Neue Zürcher Zeitung Tamedia

Speaker

Lukas Mäder

Lukas Mäder

Redaktor Technik, Neue Zürcher Zeitung

Lukas Mäder ist Redakteur bei der NZZ und hat sich auf Technologie, Digitalisierung und Cybersicherheit spezialisiert. Zuvor war er für die NZZ im Bundeshaus und als Inlandredaktor tätig, wechselte dann in das Ressort Wissenschaft und Technologie. Bei 20 Minuten Online leitete Mäder das Ressort Politik. Zudem baute er für SRF4News die Diskussionssendung «Politikum» zur Session der Eidgenössischen Räte auf.

Oliver Zihlmann

Oliver Zihlmann

Co-Leiter Recherchedesk, Tamedia

Als Co-Leiter des Recherchedesks von Tamedia beinhalten seine Berichterstattungen schwerpunktemässig vertiefte Recherchen, regelmässig in Kooperation mit internationalen Journalisten. Als promovierter Historiker, arbeitete er u.a. für «10 vor 10» des Schweizer Fernsehens SRF und war ständiger Mitarbeiter der SonntagsZeitung in Berlin. Zudem unterrichtet er Investigative Recherche an der Zürcher Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften. Für seine Arbeiten wurde Zihlmann mit dem Zürcher Journalistenpreis und dem Medienpreis für Qualitätsjournalismus prämiert.

Grégoire Barbey

Grégoire Barbey

Journalist & Co-Autor Le temps

Grégoire Barbey wurde bei der Wirtschafts- und Finanzzeitung L'Agefi ausgebildet. Er entwickelte digitale Themen beim Medium Heidi.news und arbeitet seit Dezember 2023 für Le Temps, wo er weiterhin für Cyber-Themen zuständig ist. Als leidenschaftlicher Politik- und Technologiefan betrachtet er diese Themen aus dem Blickwinkel ihrer Auswirkungen auf die Gesellschaft. Zudem ist Barbey Co-Autor von "Notre si précieuse intégrité numérique", einem Buch über die wertvolle, digitale Integrität.

Prof. Dr. Touradj Ebrahimi

Prof. Dr. Touradj Ebrahimi

Direktor Multimedia Signal Processing Group EPFL Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne EPFL

Prof. Dr. Ebrahimi lehrt und forscht im Bereich Multimedia-Signalverarbeitung und ist seit 2014 Vorsitzender des JPEG-Nominierungsausschusses, der eine Reihe von Standards entwickelt hat, die die Welt der Bildverarbeitung revolutioniert haben. Er vertritt die Schweiz als Delegationsleiter bei JTC1, welches für die Informationstechnologie ISO und IEC zuständig ist. Zudem berät er als Experte die Europäische Kommission und andere staatliche Fördereinrichtungen in Europa. Ebrahimi ist Gründer mehrerer Startup und Spinoff-Unternehmen, darunter das jüngste RayShaper SA, ein Forschungs-Startup-Unternehmen, das sich mit KI-gestütztem Multimedia beschäftigt.

Swiss Cyber Security Days
18. - 19. Februar 2025

  • Startseite
  • Über die Swiss Cyber Security Days
  • Programm
  • Ausstellende
  • Produkte

  • Über diese Anwendung